jeherber
Reviews
8
Featured Reviews
0
Average Rating
5
Recommended
0%
Helpful Votes
87
Active Since
05.22.11
Last Review
04.29.13
04.29.13

Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Wiz

What it is: An ultra-slim, retractable pencil for precise detailing and creating hair-like strokes. What it does: Brow Wiz's ultra-fine, retractable tip is perfect for spot-filling in areas where brow hair is sparse by mimicking fine, hair-like strokes. This pencil is idea for places where your arches may be bare or over-tweezed, and the smudge-proof formula stays put day for fresh, natural-looking brows. What it is formulated WITHOUT:- Parabens- Sulfates - Phthalates What else you need to know:Some names are changing, but the shades will remain exactly the same so you can shade match across the entire Anastasia collection.This product is an Allure Best of Beauty award winner.
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Skin Tone:Medium
Eye Color:Brown
Age:25-34
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ebony=Great for Asians
-04.29.13
Quick Take: long lasting, natural
I am Asian with dark brown/almost black hair and brows. Prior to the Anastasia brow wiz in Ebony, I'd been using the same pencil in the medium ash which is a little more brown.
If you are Asian with dark brown/black hair I would say that it might be worth getting this pencil in both medium ash and ebony in case you want to mix colors. If you had to choose one, I'd go with the ebony--the medium ash could be a little too light to use on its own. The ebony can definitely be used on its own.
This pencil has definitely made my life a lot easier in the mornings. I have used eyebrow powder before and the Make Up Forever waterproof brow gel (which is amazing!!) but sometimes it's a little too much of a hassle in the AM when you're trying to just get out the door because you have to use a brow brush with it.
WIth the Anastasia pencil, it's so easy for me just to fill in my brows quickly and give a quick brush and then head out the door. The pencil tip itself is so thin and when you use it, it is not such a heavy deposit of color, it's very fine to mimic real eyebrow hair so it doesn't look unnatural. This pencil is also automatic so you never have to sharpen!
This is definitely a must-have product for me!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
12.22.11
Mia(TM) Skin Cleansing System - Pink

Clarisonic Mia(TM) Skin Cleansing System - Pink

What it is:A travel-friendly, professional-quality skincare brush.What it does:From the creators of the Sonicare(R) toothbrush comes the Clarisonic(R) Mia set, featuring the handy to-go sized version of the original, groundbreaking Clarisonic Brush. Sonic technology first changed the way we clean our teeth, now it's changing how we cleanse our skin. The sonic frequency moves Clarisonic's soft, gentle brush back and forth at more than 300 times per second, thoroughly clearing pores and skin surface.Here are some of the benefits this revolutionary skincare tool delivers:- Removes makeup six times better than traditional methods.- Clears pores and reduces the appearance of pore size.- Cleanses so thoroughly that skincare products absorb better.- Creates noticeably healthier looking skin.This set contains:- Clarisonic Mia One Speed Brush- International pLink(TM) charger for worldwide use- Sensitive Brush Head- 1.0 oz Gentle Hydro CleanserWhat else you need to know:Clarisonic should be used as part of a daily skincare regimen to provide smoother feeling and looking skin. It is ideal for all skin types, and used and recommended by leading dermatologists and cosmetic surgeons.* Product not available for gift wrapping.
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Skin Type:Combination
Skin Tone:Medium
Age:18-24
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic When You Use the Appropriate Brushhead
-12.22.11
I purchased my Clarisonic Mia back in May of 2011. After using it for about six months, I feel like I have now a qualified review of this product.
There are some mixed reviews out in the market regarding the Clarisonic Mia, with most reviews saying how much this product has changed peoples' skin. I have also encountered negative reviews claiming that this product broke people out, stripped their skin, etc.
Hopefully my review of this product can help someone out there who's hearing conflicting reports.
The Clarisonic Mia is a cleansing tool that is intended to help you give your skin a deeper, thorough cleanse. There are product claims that this tool is gentle to us twice a day, reduces the appearance of pore size, and helps to absorb other skincare products. From my experience, all of this is true if you use the appropriate brush head for your skin.
When you first purchase this product, it comes with a sensitive brush head. There are various brush heads for different skin types. Since I have mildly sensitive skin, I thought that the sensitive head was perfect for me. I started using it with my Philosophy Purity cleanser twice a day and within a month or two my skin did change for the better. It was smoother, softer, and I did really feel like it was cleaning my skin more thoroughly. I experienced a mild "purging" phase where I might get a pimple or two but other than that the first couple of months was great.
After that, I started noticing that my skin was getting a little more oily and that my breakouts were getting more frequent. I thought maybe I was using the product too much so I scaled it back to once a day but the breakouts still happened.
Eventually I stopped using it for about a month or two and waited for my skin to clear up. I also changed my diet a little bit cutting out dairy in case that was the problem. Then I tried just using it once a week for a thorough cleanse but literally every time I used it, I would wake up with a deep pimple on my face.
At this point I was disappointed and thought maybe this product just wasn't for me and thought about returning it. After going back and forth a bit, I decided to just try the delicate brush head instead. I said to myself, if the delicate brush head gives me the same results, I'll return it.
Lo and behold, it's been about a week and the delicate brush head was the solution to my problem the entire time. Basically, the sensitive brush head was too abrasive for my face and causing me to break out. I've been using my Clarisonic every single night for a week and have had zero breakouts/pimples with the benefit of just really clean skin. I noticed that this product really does help to allow my other products to work my effectively and my pores do appear smaller.
To sum it up, if you're experience breakouts because of the Clarisonic, consider that maybe you're using a brush head that's too abrasive for your skin. There are other things to consider too such as whether you're cleaning your brush head appropriately, or changing it frequently enough (every 3-4 months), but if you already do those things and are experiencing breakouts with this tool, think about scaling down your brush head intensity.
Furthermore, if you're considering the Clarisonic, please do not think that this is a miracle solution for your acne. Yes, it can definitely help prevent acne caused by bacteria, make-up, or dirt but every so often I still might get one hormonal pimple.
For anyone curious, I did changed my cleanser. I use my Clarisonic at night with my Kate Somerville Detox cleanser and am really enjoying the duo.
+59points
59out of 59found this review helpful.
10.06.11

Kate Somerville Detox Daily Cleanser

Which skin type is it good for? ✔ Normal ✔ Oily ✔ Combination What it is: A detoxifying gel cleanser for acne-prone skin. Solutions for: - Oiliness - Uneven skin tone - Dullness and uneven texture If you want to know more… Wash away makeup, residue, and excess oil with Detox Daily Cleanser. The first step in restoring clarity to acne-prone skin, this rejuvenating formula removes impurities and leaves skin feeling cleaner, brighter, smoother, and softer. Phytic acid helps brighten the look of skin, while botanical extracts and vitamins moisturize and condition skin to help prevent over-drying. What it is formulated WITHOUT: - Parabens - Phthalates What else you need to know: Less is more! All cleansers are concentrated, so use only a dime-sized amount. This cleanser is perfect for those who are using product for acne-prone skin, since the gel base thoroughly cleanses, without stripping the skin. Kate Somerville has been certified cruelty-free by PETA, solidifying the brand’s commitment to never test their products or ingredients on animals.
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Skin Type:Combination
Skin Tone:Medium
Age:18-24
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Cleanser!
-10.06.11
I recently started using more Kate Somerville products because of its positive reviews and let's say that I'm not at all disappointed, particularly starting with this cleanser.
I have combination/oily/acne-prone/mildly sensitive skin and I have always been on the hunt for the right cleanser. I've tried many different cleansers that have either ended up not really do much for my face or cause allergic reactions.
Lately I've tried just using the Philosophy Purity cleanser which is great but wasn't really doing anything preventative for my acne. I started looked into the Detox cleanser and after 3-4 weeks of use I love it. Ever since I started using this cleanser I have not had one cystic pimple (the ones that are deep and really hurt). I do still get some horomonal/stress related tiny bumps but no cystic pimples is a big achievement for me and I hope it continues. (Knock on wood)
Please note that this is a GEL cleanser which is very appropriate for acne-prone oily/combo skin. I use probably a penny size amount each time morning and night. At night I do still use the Philosophy Purity cleanser to remove all my make-up but follow with this cleanser.
This cleanser does mildly foam when you lather up and has a lovely tangerine smell. I typically like to massage it in my face for about 30 seconds and leave it on for a little longer to let it do its work. Once a week I do use this cleanser with my Clarisonic Mia.
Please note that I do use this cleanser in conjunction with Kate Somerville's ExfoliKate which is a powerful duo. If you have acne-prone skin exfoliation is a must. The wellness of your skin is really going to be dependent on the combination of various products you use.
Since this cleanser is a little on the pricier side, I do recommend that you get a sample of it before purchasing.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
10.06.11

Kate Somerville Oil Free Moisturizer

Which skin type is it good for? ✔ Normal ✔ Oily ✔ Combination What it is: An oil-free moisturizer that supports antiaging and smooths and hydrates skin. Solutions for: - Oiliness - Dryness - Loss of firmness and elasticity If you want to know more… Hydration is essential for healthy, balanced, clear skin no matter the skin type. This lightweight moisturizer leaves nothing behind but smooth, supple, youthful-looking skin. Designed to hydrate while keeping oily skin in check, this unique formula is designed to diminish the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles and help improve the look of elasticity, firmness, and the visible signs of aging. Moisturizing is key to achieving radiant skin, and is the integral third step in Kate's 3 Steps to Glowing Skin. What it is formulated WITHOUT: - Parabens - Sulfates - Phthalates What else you need to know: This product is free of fragrance. Kate Somerville has been certified cruelty-free by PETA, solidifying the brand’s commitment to never test their products or ingredients on animals.
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Skin Type:Combination
Skin Tone:Medium
Age:18-24
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Oil-Free Moisturizer
-10.06.11
Quick Take: absorbs quickly
I highly recommend all combination/oily/acne-prone beauties to try this oil-free moisturizer. I've always been on the hunt for a great oil-free moisturizer and before this I was using the Clinique moisture surge gel but I noticed that it wasn't really helping with my oiliness.
I got a sample of this moisturizer and gave it a try and I was absolutely amazed. It really does what it says in terms of moisturizing your face without leaving you greasy or too dry. When you put it on you just feel like your face is plump and well balanced. It hasn't broken me out and I really it has helped my other acne products to be more effective on my skin. I also like how this product has anti-aging benefits.
Some people have complained about the smell which I do not mind at all but might bother you. It has a very mild, almost dairy-like or fresh milk-like smell. It's not overbearing and obviously disappears once you put it on your face. The consistency is not watery but not like a rich cream either, more in-between.
This product is pricey though so I would recommend that you get a sample first and try it out. I do find that a little goes a long way. The product has a unique dispensing mechanism where the top has a hole in the middle so when you push down, the product comes out. Some people complain about this but I actually really think it's a clever and sanitary way to apply the product. I use this product 2x a day (morning and night) and have been using it for about 3-4 weeks now.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
10.06.11

Kate Somerville ExfoliKate® Intensive Pore Exfoliating Treatment

What it is: A dual-action exfoliator that smooths and polishes skin to reveal a natural glow; lactic acid and fruit enzymes clean clogged pores in as little as one use.Skin Type: Normal, Dry, Combination, and Oily Skincare Concerns: Dullness and Uneven Skintone, Pores, and Fine Lines and WrinklesFormulation: ScrubHighlighted Ingredients:- Papaya, Pineapple, and Pumpkin Enzymes: Naturally enhance skin exfoliation without overdrying.- Lactic Acid, Salicylic Acid, and Silica: Lactic and salicylic acid provide chemical exfoliation while natural ingredient silica works to physically exfoliate dead skin cells from the surface.- Aloe Vera, Honey, and Vitamin E: Help smooth and soften skin.Ingredient Callouts: Free of sulfates SLS and SLES, parabens, formaldehydes, formaldehyde-releasing agents, phthalates, mineral oil, retinyl palmitate, oxybenzone, coal tar, hydroquinone, triclosan, and triclocarban, and contains less than one percent of synthetic fragrances. This product is cruelty-free. What Else You Need to Know: Perfected in the clinic to reveal glowing skin, Kate’s signature facial delivers four treatments-cleanser, scrub, peel, and mask-in one powerhouse product. Natural AHAs chemically exfoliate, while Silica helps with physical exfoliation to reveal smoother, brighter-looking skin in as little as two minutes.Clinical Results: In an independent clinical study, after just 1 use:- 94% of women tested showed highly significant improvement in skin texture.- 97% of women tested showed highly significant improvement in the appearance of pores.- 100% of women tested showed highly significant improvement in the appearance of crow’s feet, fine lines and wrinkles.
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Skin Type:Combination
Skin Tone:Medium
Age:18-24
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HG Exfoliator
-10.06.11
Quick Take: intensive
This is hands down the best exfoliator I have ever used. I've tried many exfoliators and this one just blows them out of the water. I have combination/oily/acneprone/mildly sensitive skin. Every time I use this product it leaves my skin literally glowing, brighter, and makes any acne heal faster. I use it 2x a week. I do believe that this product has tremendously helped my acne as any good exfoliation would since you're getting rid of that top layer of dead skin cells.
What makes this exfoliator so effective is that it both provides physical exfoliation as well as chemical. The physical comes from the microbeads in the product. You massage the product on a damp face to physically loosen up the dead skin cells then leave it on for the fruit enzymes to do the chemical exfoliation.
Please note that Kate also has a gentle version of this product meant for sensitive skin. I have mildly sensitive skin so the first time that I used this product, I felt a strong tingling sensation. If you have mildly sensitive skin do not be surprised if you cannot keep this product on for more than 15 seconds the first time you use it. After my first use my skin adapted to it a little bit. I'm on my 3rd/4th week using it and I leave it on for about 15-30 seconds each time.
If you continually experience a burning/stinging sensation after more than one use, I would switch to the gentle version. I went to my local sephora to get samples of both to try out.
I did notice that buying 4 of the 0.5 oz tubes for $19 each from Sephora is a lot cheaper than buying the 2.0 oz for $85. The price different without taxes is $9.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
06.27.11

Fresh Sugar Lip Balm Sunscreen SPF 15

What it is: A cult-favorite hydrating and smoothing lip balm that offers clear, sheer, and effortless color with lasting moisture and essential sun protection.Skin Type: Normal, Dry, Combination, and Oily Skincare Concerns: DrynessHighlighted Ingredients:- Sugar: A natural humectant known to prevent moisture loss. - Meadowfoam and Black Currant Seed Oils: Help moisturize. - Grapeseed Oil: Helps to smooth and soften and is rich in antioxidants known to protect from damaging free radicals. What Else You Need to Know: The original, award-winning Sugar Lip Balms let you easily customize your look-swipe once for a hint of hue or more for buildable color. These bestsellers are infused with nourishing oils and moisture-preserving sugar to deliver nonstop hydration plus sunscreen.Clean at Sephora Clean at Sephora is formulated without a list of over 50 ingredients, including sulfates (SLS and SLES), parabens, phthalates, and more. For the full list, check out the Ingredients tab.
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Skin Type:Combination
Skin Tone:Medium
Age:18-24
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My HG Lip Balm of All Time
-06.27.11
Quick Take: non-sticky, non-waxy
I've been a faithful user of this lip balm for about 3 years now. I've tried many different lip balms from drugstore brands all the way to high end brands and I keep coming back to this.
Nothing can beat the consistency of this lip balm in terms of texture and the level of moisture that it gives your lips. You don't need a ton of product to get your lips moisturized and I find that it really does a great job of treating my lips as well. I can feel my lips hydrated even after most of the lip balm is gone.
I also love the sleek packaging, it's a little more weighty than other typical lip balms. It has a twist and pull cap so when you first get this, don't try to pull. Twist first then pull off the cap.
The balm smells lemon-sugary, but it's not overbearing. The product is quite soft though so make sure you keep it in a relatively cool place or it will melt.
I love putting this lip balm on at night before I got to bed. When I wake up in the morning and smack my lips, I can still feel the product there which testifies to its fantastic lasting power.
Just a side note, I have heard raving reviews about La Mer's lip treatment and tried it at a department store. I only tried it once but was not impressed. It felt too thin of a consistency and was not as plushy and soft as the Fresh lip balm. Plus, Fresh is half the price.
Overall, you cannot lose with this lip balm. When I first purchased it I did think 22 dollars was a hefty price to pay for a lip balm but it really did make a believer out of me. It is a fantastic product and worth every penny. I would say that I use this product almost every single day and one tube lasts me around 4-5 months.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
06.22.11
VOLUPTÉ SHEER CANDY - Glossy Balm Crystal Color

Yves Saint Laurent VOLUPTÉ SHEER CANDY - Glossy Balm Crystal Color

What it is:A glossy lip balm.What it does:This balm dresses your lips in a sheer veil of brilliant color boosted with vitamin- and antioxidant-rich fruit extract. Its ultralight, sensual texture leaves lips feeling soft and hydrated for up to eight hours and is ideal for year-round use.
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Eye Color:Brown
Skin Tone:Medium
Age:18-24
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fabulous Sheer Color Lip Balm
-06.22.11
Quick Take: hydrating
I got this balm in shade 02 and I was pleasantly surprised at how soft and great it felt on the lips. It has a very smooth texture and there isn't any stickiness. It does have that glossy look when you put it on but it's not shimmery, glittery, or super high-glossy. It's just plain classy glossy. It also smells like mango fruity goodness.
I would like to stress that this is a SHEER glossy balm meaning, like it says, it gives you sheer color. The pigmentation is actually quite good considering that it's supposed to be a sheer product. You can see clear differences in the various colors, all the way from shade 01 to shade 06. I tried them all in the Sephora store.
So if you're looking for a product with full pigmentation and coverage like you would a lipstick, this isn't the lip product for you. But if you like that sheer look and you're someone on the go who doesn't want to think about whipping out a mirror to put on their lip product, this is definitely a must-try. I personally love how you don't need a mirror to apply this and it gives you that perfect hint of color, great moisture, velvety texture, and the right amount of gloss.
This product does not have fantastic lasting power on your lips but I find that I don't mind reapplying multiple times throughout the day especially cause it feels so soft. I actually think that my Fresh regular lip balm lasts longer than this in terms of moisture power, and by moisture power I mean really feeling the moisture on your lips when you smack them.
I have tried the Fresh tinted lip balms which I would consider a different kind of product. I would say that the Fresh tinted lip balms do give you more color punch pigmentation than these products and they feel more balmy/waxy than the sheer candy lip balms. In a nutshell, Fresh feels more waxy balmy while YSL sheer candy feels more velvety balmy.
Is this worth it for your money? It's all subjective. If you are the type of person who would realistically use a sheer lip balm everyday as your HG lip product, I think this is definitely worth your money. The quality of the product is exceptional. If you are the type of person who uses more full on lipsticks everyday, this might not be worth the investment or at least something to collect in all colors. YSL rouge volupte would be more worth your investment.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
05.22.11

CLINIQUE Moisture Surge Extended Thirst Relief

Which skin type is it good for?✔ Normal✔ Oily✔ Combination✔ Dry✔ SensitiveWhat it is:A multitasking, lightweight cream-gel that provides up to 24 hours of soothing hydration.Solutions for:- Dryness- Fine lines and wrinkles- Dullness and uneven texture If you want to know more… This refreshing, oil-free cream-gel is a "drink" for skin, continuously plumping its appearance with hydration. The luxurious, addictive texture and ultra-hydrating formula make it a frequent fliers’ favorite. It improves the appearance of fine lines, flakiness, and tightness, leaving skin looking and feeling happier and healthier-even through shifts in humidity. It immediately cools and refreshes for a soft, smooth complexion. It can be used as a five-minute moisture mask, or over makeup for a luminous glow. What it is formulated WITHOUT: - Parabens What else you need to know:This product is allergy tested, non-acnegenic, and free of fragrance and oil.
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Skin Type:Combination
Skin Tone:Medium
Age:18-24
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Moisturizer
-05.22.11
Quick Take: lightweight, absorbs quickly, great for oily-combination skin!
I have combination-oily-sensitive-acne prone skin and have been on the hunt for a really great moisturizer that can accommodate my skin type. The moisturizer I was using prior was the Ren Hydra Calming lotion which is great but I wasn't totally sold on it for my skin type.
I went into the Sephora store and was browsing around for moisturizers and I remembered hearing good things about this particular one so I tried it on in the store.
What I first noticed when I put it on was how quickly it absorbed in my skin and after putting it on there wasn't any greasy film on my face. It leaves your face plump and hydrated, without any kind of slippery residue. It also leave your face feeling matte, but not a dry matte, just hydrated.
Now that I've bought it and used it for a couple of days I can see a difference on how my makeup applies and stays on. I don't get that oily shine an hour after I apply my make up on anymore which I used to get. I think the reason behind that is because this is a gel-based moisturizer rather than my Ren lotion which was more creamy.
Unless I can find anything better (which I don't think I can), I can tell this is going to be my go-to moisturizer for the daytime. This moisturizer does not include SPF though so you would probably have to use separate facial sunscreen.
I absolutely love this moisturizer and I do believe it's worth every penny. You don't have to use a lot (size of a penny at most) for your whole face and it does exactly what it says.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.