Product Reviews

SEPHORA COLLECTION Bunette

What it is:An innovative and easy-to-use hair bun styler for creating an array of impressive looks. What it does: Twist and turn your hair into glamorous, head-turning styles with this versatile tool. Simply slide in hair at the ends, roll up, and then fold into a perfectly chic shape. What else you need to know:This product is not tested on animals.
Average Rating:
3.581 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(260 Reviews) 260
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 260 reviews
5 stars
102
4 stars
56
3 stars
33
2 stars
29
1 star
40
Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 23 Answers
Sort by reviews for SEPHORA COLLECTION Bunette
Review 1 for Bunette
Location:North Hollywood, CA
Hair Condition:Normal
Age:45-54
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Found When I Least Expected It! Score!
-11.15.16
Quick Take: very useful!
Excellent! I had a similar item about twenty years ago, when I needed to make little buns upon my daughter who was attending elementary school. I was looking all over for such an item again. I like to use them for making my hair wavy. I wrap barely damp hair with these Bunettes, then let air dry, and unfurl. Yay Waves! Buy two, and you can dress as Princess Leia at Halloween! I bought them on sale at Sephora and was thrilled!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bunette
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
love them
-10.25.16
Ive had a hard time finding these hair things, they work so well for buns and are so easy to use. A must try.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bunette
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
-10.25.16
I have long thin hair and it held my hair perfectly in a bun the entire day! It took 30 seconds to do! So easy! Highly recommend if you want a fast on the go hairdo!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bunette
Location:Toronto, Ontario, CA
Hair Condition:Fine
Age:45-54
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bunette
-10.22.16
Quick Take: nifty
This is a nifty little gadget that makes a bun very easy. I like it. Takes a couple of tries to get used to using it but once you do, it is a breeze. I like this and always get complements when I use it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bunette
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
-09.07.16
I got long hair and this bunette works amazing, it's easy to style and holds all day long without the heavy feeling.
I'm getting more of them, just too bad no more brown colour left.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bunette
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
thats better than anyothers
-08.26.16
Sad they removed it from the store, discontinued it but now it's back on stock, i bought 6 of them!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bunette
Location:pittsburgh, pa
Hair Condition:Normal
Age:18-24
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
where has this been all my life?
-05.28.15
I was using a sock for a sock bun. This obviously works 100 times better. recommend to anyone, but suggest girls with long hair only. you clearly need to have enough hair to wrap around this a few times and enough hair to spread to hide the back of it.
its compact.
its kept its shape and flex even after quite a few uses.
easy to use.
Cheap.
its a great tool to have.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bunette
Location:Grand Rapids, MI
Hair Condition:Fine
Age:25-34
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great alternative to the donut
-05.17.15
I have long hair (well past my shoulders) and I have had a terrible time winding it around those donut things. I think this is a superior product. It's light and comfortable and is less likely to tangle up your hair. You definitely need some length for this to work, but that's true of any bun styler. I do wish it bulked up my bun the way the donut does, but I'll take ease and comfort over volume :)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bunette
Location:Seattle
Hair Condition:Curly
Age:25-34
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
worth all 3 dollars
-05.15.15
Quick Take: awesome!
I do not understand the low ratings for this. This is definitely the best $3 I've ever spent at Sephora. Way easier than the sock bun, though I'll admit that I have thick, curly hair, which probably makes this easier to use. I did have to look up the instructional youtube video that I posted here on how to really use it, but I get a perfect bun in less than 60 seconds with this thing!
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
+46points
47out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bunette
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
horrible!!
-05.14.15
worth not even a one star. I have pretty thick and little curly hair. It could not hold my hair at all.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bunette
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
-05.12.15
Works best if you don't got layered hair! But still cute for gals who have layered hair as a low bun
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bunette
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tease your hair first
-05.11.15
I have long, layered, fine hair- but a lot of it. I like this a lot better than my mesh hair donut because it feels much more stable. With all of my layers, it works best if i tease my ponytail first.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bunette
Location:Forest Lake, MN
Hair Condition:Chemically Treated (Colored, Relaxed, or Permed)
Age:35-44
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Doesn't work with lots of hair.
-05.09.15
I have long, thick, coarse hair. This doesn't work for me. It was such a failure I'd say it was laughable. Maybe better with shorter, finer hair?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bunette
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
all the way down to the butt long hair
-05.08.15
This worked great on the first try! I have super long/medium thick hair. It didn't weight my head down like a ponytail does and the bun wasn't ginormous either. Only complaint was that the metal part broke when I went to use it a second time!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bunette
Location:St. John's, NL
Hair Condition:Chemically Treated (Colored, Relaxed, or Permed)
Age:18-24
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bunette vs. the "sock bun"
-04.30.15
Quick Take: good for thick hair, good for damaged ends
I made an order right before a haircut. It was only a few inches, but I have thin hair and it is feeling really healthy after the cut. It works better on thick hair that is past the shoulder or longer. Also it does a good job of covering up damage, but if you have thin hair I would probably opt for a sock bun instead.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bunette
Location:Winston-Salem, NC
Hair Condition:Coarse
Age:35-44
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ok for the price
-04.27.15
First, let's be honest, I got this because it was $3 on sale and I needed something to put me over $25 for a freebie... I have very thick hair to the top of my shoulders and have a decent ponytail when my hair is up. I wasn't expecting this to really work, but it actually worked pretty well. I put my hair up into a ponytail, threaded my hair through the middle of the Bunette, and then rolled it up toward my head and wrapped it around. It actually stayed in place without any pins, but I don't have quite enough hair to completely cover the whole Bunette, even when I kind of try to scoot it around. When my hair gets longer, though, I think it will be great!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Bunette
Location:New York, New York
Hair Condition:Curly
Age:18-24
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Perfect Bun
-04.22.15
This product is very easy to use on wet or dry hair. The only thing I wish it had was a snap at the end to hold the ends together. Instead I use bobby pins to close the gap.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Bunette
Location:Houston, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Awful
-04.20.15
My hair is one palm past shoulder length and thin - it does not work for me! :(
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Bunette
Location:Blackwood, NJ
Hair Condition:Curly
Age:35-44
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
doesn't work
-04.20.15
I have hair past shoulder length, fairly thick that I can wear curly or straight. This thing just does not work in my hair.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Bunette
Location:Atlanta, GA
Hair Condition:Oily
Age:25-34
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great!
-04.20.15
Quick Take: easy to use
This creates a smaller bun than the Sarah Potempa version. Got it on sale for $3 so you can't beat that either. It's great.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | ... 13 | ...next |