Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Sephora.

Tarte Carried Away Collector's Set

What it is: A striking collection of tarte favorites for eyes, lips, and cheeks in a glimmering, gold bag. What it does: Travel beautifully with this impressive collection of Tarte essentials. The all-inclusive set features six eye shadow quads for a show-stopping palette of bold, high-payoff shades in both shimmering and matte formulas. The deluxe maracuja glosses will perk up any pout with a mix of neutral and stunning shades, ranging from pale petal pink to deep crimson. The kit also includes an Amazonian clay 12-hour blush and complementary domed brush to brighten complexions, finishing powder to balance skin, and dramatic mascara for voluptuous, attention-getting lashes. This set contains: - 0.05 oz Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush in Adventurous (shimmering rose) - 0.07 oz Amazonian Clay Finishing Powder - 8 x 0.059 oz Maracuja Lip Glosses- 0.16 oz Lights, Camera, Lashes! 4-In-1 Mascara - Face brush- 24 x 0.06 oz Amazonian Clay Eyeshadow - Adventurer bag What it is formulated WITHOUT:- Parabens- Sulfates- Synthetic Fragrances - Petrochemicals- Phthalates- GMOs- Triclosan What else you need to know: Each purely pigmented shadow is named after a place on the map where members of the Tarte team have traveled.
Average Rating:
4.544 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(270 Reviews) 270
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 270 reviews
5 stars
200
4 stars
41
3 stars
12
2 stars
10
1 star
7
Sort by reviews for Tarte Carried Away Collector's Set
Review 1 for Carried Away Collector's Set
Location:Bay Area, CA
Age:18-24
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brilliant shadows and good deal!
-12.16.12
What a great deal. For about $50 you get all this stuff! Eyeshadows of all different colors and finishes, lip gloss shades, their blush and setting powder, mascara, and a brush! Amazing. The eyeshadows are great and apply very well. I like playing with all the colors. The only problem is the case is quite bulky. I don't know where to keep it in my room. When I travel, it takes up waaay too much space!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carried Away Collector's Set
Location:Queens, N.Y
Age:25-34
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent gift
-12.13.12
i bought this as a gift for someone and she absolutely loved it....it has tons of colors and comes in a case, perfect for anyone that loves makeup
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carried Away Collector's Set
Location:Georgia
Age:25-34
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carried Away with this!
-12.12.12
Quick Take: great deal, high quality
This set is AWESOME! For the money, it cannot be beat. Before reviewing the goods...I have to point out that I LOVE the case. This is a great travel case and you can fit other products in! I've been on three weekend trips since I bought this, and it's perfect to throw in a carry-on bag with just the essentials. Very functional.
Now onto the makeup! The lip glosses are all smooth and not too sticky. They are great colors and tend to go on lighter than they look, so none of them are overpowering. I was skeptical about the blush because I've been using the same two colors (orgasm and angelika from NARS) for the past forever, but I even like the blush! It's a great color that would work for any skin. The finishing powder is a lot like the HD finishing powder. The mascara is okay, but I usually use at least three different mascaras at a time so it works for layering. The blush brush is soft and once I got used to the size of it, it does a great job, especially on the balls of your cheeks. Finally, the eye shadow. With 24 eye shadows of this quality, you can't go wrong! I always use primer and these eye shadows work great with all of my primers. I like to mix and match the colors...they stay on really well and are so fun! Overall, the value of this is ridiculously good. HIGHLY recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carried Away Collector's Set
Location:El Segundo, CA
Skin Tone:Light
Eye Color:Blue
Age:35-44
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the best sets I have gotten
-12.06.12
Quick Take: good value, travel size
I have read a few other reviews about the eyehadows and wanted to put in my two cents - I love them. I use them all the time and they are all quite pigmented to me. Blush is great, glosses are great, brush is great, it is all great. I am a make-up junkie and use lots of different brands and this is a great set. Love the bag and use it all the time for travel
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carried Away Collector's Set
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not for me
-12.06.12
What you get for the price is amazing. I loved the blush and lipgloss. However the eyeshadow just wouldn't work on me. It was not pigmented and super sheer. Didn't work for me so I retuned it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carried Away Collector's Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So excited!
-12.06.12
I was so excited to see this value set in the store today. The eyeshadows are full size and really pretty colors. For what Tarte usually costs this is a fantastic value. I even used my $15 off coupon and paid $39. Awesome!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carried Away Collector's Set
Location:Nashville, TN
Age:45-54
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for Travel or Home
-12.06.12
I actually bought this for a gift but when it came, I couldn't let it go! The packaging isn't "cheesy" but sewn well, it is tough to withstand using it and it's pretty! The inside are where the goodies are! I'm familiiar with the brand so you that aren't, the eyeshadow actually stays put if you use primer and the lip colors are awesome as well. I have about 3 brands I always go to but Tarte has become one of them for sure. This is a good value and would make a nice gift. If you can give it up!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carried Away Collector's Set
Location:33435
Age:25-34
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Beautiful Packaging. Not much color payoff
-12.06.12
Quick Take: pretty packaging, expensive, eye shadows fade quickly
Let me first start off by saying that I do not regret getting this item. The little case is beautiful and will be useful for time to come. Even though I'm a bit lipglossed out from a certain makeup subscription, these weren't at all bad. The pigment is very subtle, but there's a minty smell and feel to them, which I love. I think my mascara might have been received dried out. :( I do not like this at all. Perhaps I can still contact Sephora about this. The powder is just okay. I don't have a lot of experience using loose powder, so it's a little difficult for me to judge. The best items in this package by far have been the makeup brush and the blush, which are so very useful. The blush lasts a good long time and is pleasingly well-colored. I'm really not too happy with the eye shadows... When you dab them on, you can definitely see the pigment in there, which is just okay at first... but it doesn't last. Even with a makeup primer, they still fade within a few hours.
I really wanted to love this set, but I really mostly bought it for the eye shadows which were disappointing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carried Away Collector's Set
Location:New York, NY
Age:25-34
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
waste of money
-12.06.12
Quick Take: wack
I mainly got this for the shadows but they arn't pigmented the packaging is great the lip glosses are nice and I like the finishing powder and blush are nice too. Even with primer the eyeshadow doesnt pop. I changed it for the new too faced palette.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carried Away Collector's Set
Location:Palo Alto, CA
Skin Type:Oily
Skin Tone:Light
Eye Color:Brown
Age:25-34
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great value, love the color choices
-12.06.12
Quick Take: good value, travel size
I'm amazed by how much stuff you get in this set for the price. I really like the shadows and blush, and the other products are a nice addition. Especially love the color choices for the eyeshadow palette - so much variety and so versatile. While it's true that not all of the shades were super-pigemented with one swipe, they're definitely buildable. I used these wet and got intense, intense pigmentation.
Check out my video review for full details (including sizes and price comparisons), as well as swatches of the products.
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Full review with SWATCHES
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carried Away Collector's Set
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good variety, not extremely well pigmented
-12.05.12
Quick Take: good value, awesome packaging
There is a good variety of shades and I enjoyed the neutral colors. I thought the shadows themselves were adequately pigmented and fairly creamy, but not as pigmented as Urban Decay shadows. However, the entire package with the beautiful case, brush, blush, and lipglosses was definitely worth it!!!! Money wise, it's a great purchase
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carried Away Collector's Set
Location:Lk Stevens, WA
Skin Type:Combination
Skin Tone:Fair
Eye Color:Blue
Age:45-54
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value
-12.05.12
Quick Take: good value, travel size
I could only afford one of the holiday sets this year, and after much thought I chose this one for a birthday gift to myself. :) I took it on a trip to use as my main makeup for the week.
I have kind of mixed feelings about it. I have used Tarte quite often in the past and like the brand, though I am usually more of a BE and Urban Decay girl. I liked the eye colors in the picture, but have not found a way to apply them to take advantage of the colors--they all kind of look the same when applied, just varying intensities of light or dark. I've tried all different brushes and several kinds of primers, and even with my pale skin don't get much color. Maybe I'm just spoiled from UD eyeshadows I've been wearing a lot lately. I was surprised at how much I like the lip glosses. Great variety, feel good on, colors are all workable--I think that's my favorite part of the set! The blush is very nice--I have another of this type in another shade and it is by far my favorite blush. The mascara is also good, as is the powder. The brush is workable, but I with they had included an eye brush instead. The bag, however, is disappointing. It looked cute but the snap broke the first time I used so it doesn't close right. The mirror is a nice thought, but without the eyeshadow palatte tucked in behind it, it gives a "fun house" effect. Overall, a nice set though.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carried Away Collector's Set
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BOO to Sephora Bad Customer Service !!!!
-12.05.12
Quick Take: kit was shipped incomplete
I ordered this on line as a gift. I got the package that included an "inspected by" tag and the mascara was missing. I called Sephora and had to mail the kit back to exchange it. I was assured I would be sent a new "complete" one. Well II got a refund on my credit card and looked on line and it was still available, but was told by a standard form e-mail it was no longer in stock. I am a VIB Member and have never been more disappointed with the blatant lack of customer service. No one contacted me personally to let me know not to expect a replacement.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carried Away Collector's Set
Location:Atlanta, GA
Age:45-54
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value for the money
-12.05.12
This kit is a really great value for the money. The blush is a very pretty shade. I really like the lip glosses and they come in a variety of colors. The eye shadows are very pretty and have pretty good staying power. I took one star off because of the fall out from the glitter/shimmer shadows. If you can get over that, this is a great set!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Carried Away Collector's Set
Location:Washington, DC
Skin Tone:Medium
Eye Color:Brown
Age:25-34
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It grew on me
-12.05.12
Quick Take: good value
I just had to have this set by Tarte! I had their other holiday collections and absolutely loved them. This one however had to grow on me. It has just a bit too much shimmer but I have been able to calm that down with some of my other matte colors. Also, it takes a lot of primer in order for them not to crease, no big deal but, not quite the quality I'm used to from Tarte. The mascara, in my opinion is not good for everyday wear because it melts and you have it all over your eyes. It is an overall good value and I love the lip glosses, blush and finishing powder I just wish the shadows were the quality of previous sets. I would still recommend the set.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carried Away Collector's Set
Location:Houston TX
Age:45-54
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Teen gift
-12.05.12
Quick Take: great value, lots of variety, handy travel case
I bought this as a Christmas gift for a "difficult to buy for" 14 yr old. She loves pink, and is beginning to experiment with makeup - so I'm crossing my fingers she will like it. I love Tarte products, use many myself. I find Tarte to be high quality and delivers what packages promise. Long-wearing, looks great, does not make me break out. I thought this kit was a GREAT value ($54) for everything that is included - even a travel case, tools, and mirror. Hopefully I have made another new Tarte convert...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Carried Away Collector's Set
Location:Bethlehem, PA
Age:18-24
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Travel Case/Palette
-12.05.12
An absolute great set for the price. I love all the lip glosses and the eye shadows are very well pigmented so they show up brilliantly on your eyelids.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Carried Away Collector's Set
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Skin Type:Combination
Skin Tone:Light
Eye Color:Hazel
Age:45-54
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Gift
-12.04.12
Quick Take: good value
I bought this as a Christmas present for someone. It has beautiful colors and it was a great value for the money. I love trying different makeups myself and I know I would love to get this as a gift.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Carried Away Collector's Set
Location:Jersey City,NJ
Skin Type:Combination
Skin Tone:Deep
Eye Color:Brown
Age:18-24
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GREATNESS
-12.04.12
Quick Take: good value, travel size
The BEST VALUE HOLIDAY SET AT SEPHORA THIS YEAR. The Value of this set is GREAT. The eyeshadows are full sizes which is great They are little sheer which Tarte needs to work on but with a good base color you can make it work. The lip glosses are good too a sheer again but good for layering over lipsticks. The marscra is GREAT I will b getting a full size of it one day. The setting powder I really don't know yet. The Blush is Pretty but I wish it was a bit bright for us darker skinned women out there. The brush is great quality. Now the package itself is the BOMB.COM its useful and cute all in one. Such a great christmas gift. And the best is really not that bad for what you get in it. GREAT JOB TARTE :) YOU HAVE A NEW FAN.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Carried Away Collector's Set
Location:garfield NJ
Age:25-34
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great holiday assortment
-12.04.12
Quick Take: great quality, worth the money, nice assortment
I love this collection. Its a great variety of eye shadows. Lip gloss is great and not sticky like most. The blush looks good on most skin tones. The Amazonian finishing powder is great. U definitely get ur moneys worth.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | ... 14 | ...next |