Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Sephora.

MAKE UP FOR EVER Mat Velvet + Mattifying Foundation

Coverage:✔ MediumFinish:✔ Matte What it is:A shine controlling, oil-free, water-resistant, complete coverage liquid foundation.What it is formulated to:Hides imperfections, evens out skin tone, and mattifies with a non-oily, perfectly powdered finish. The result is flawless and lasts for hours.What else you need to know:Although this foundation provides full coverage, the end result is completely adjustable to fit your needs-a little goes a long way.Research results:-Study panel composed of 22 adults (using a 48 hour patch test) showed this product to be non-irritating and non-comedogenic.
Average Rating:
4.203 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(6496 Reviews) 6496
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 6,496 reviews
5 stars
3,769
4 stars
1,390
3 stars
573
2 stars
416
1 star
348
209 out of 268(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by reviews for MAKE UP FOR EVER Mat Velvet + Mattifying Foundation
Review 41 for Mat Velvet + Mattifying Foundation
This review is fromMat Velvet + Mattifying Foundation No. 25 - Warm Ivory.
Eye Color:Blue
Hair color:Blonde
Skin Tone:Fair
Skin Type:Combination
Skin concerns:Acne
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
skin looked like the Sahara
-04.25.18
Wayyy too drying returning. I have combo oily skin and even though double wear is too heavy looking for me it didn’t dry me out. This have nice coverage but my skin looked terrible even applying with a variety
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Mat Velvet + Mattifying Foundation
This review is fromMat Velvet + Mattifying Foundation No. 40 - Natural Beige.
Eye Color:Brown
Hair color:Black
Skin Tone:Light
Skin Type:Combination
Skin concerns:Acne
Age:18-24
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
-04.23.18
This is my HG foundation! I love wearing this in the summer because it controls my oil throughout the day. I love mixing this with my MUFE HD Foundation and other tinted moisturizer to help control my shine. The shade 40 patches me perfectly. The formula is so light weight, medium buildable coverage and it looks like skin. I love that it is oil-free and water resistant (A ). Also, I love how small it is and travel friendly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Mat Velvet + Mattifying Foundation
This review is fromMat Velvet + Mattifying Foundation No. 35 - Vanilla.
Eye Color:Hazel
Hair color:Black
Skin Tone:Olive
Skin Type:Oily
Skin concerns:Acne
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amazing but...
-04.21.18
I am pretty impressed with this product! The color match was spot on and I stay matte all day long; which is very challenging since I have an oily skin type. The only drawback about this product is that it sets into my fine lines and can become unflattering by the end of a work day. I intend to figure out a way to work around this because I love everything else about the formula!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Mat Velvet + Mattifying Foundation
This review is fromMat Velvet + Mattifying Foundation No. 15 - Alabaster.
Eye Color:Blue
Hair color:Blonde
Skin Tone:Light
Skin Type:Normal
Skin concerns:Acne
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
-04.21.18
If i could give this 0 stars I would. I purchased this because I was matched as a perfect shade. I don’t agree with the “Matt” finish because it gets cakey within a few hours. Don’t let any water get near your face unless you want obvious water marks. Also make sure you’re somewhere cold when wearing this or your sweat will just wipe it out. Very disappointed :(
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Mat Velvet + Mattifying Foundation
This review is fromMat Velvet + Mattifying Foundation No. 40 - Natural Beige.
Eye Color:Brown
Hair color:Black
Skin Tone:Light
Skin Type:Oily
Skin concerns:Acne
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
oxidizes
-04.20.18
Color match was off. I first got matched to number 35 but it was too dark so I went back and exchanged it for number 40 which looked somewhat alright for me in the store. It didn’t break me out nor did it cause excessive oil on my face after couple of hours which most foundations do... but it oxidized so much on me. I looked like I got a really bad tan just on my face after couple of hours. It just looked horrible on me. People who have more of a pink undertone will probably like this but yellow undertoned people should stay away. Mufe ultra hd was a much better match for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Mat Velvet + Mattifying Foundation
This review is fromMat Velvet + Mattifying Foundation No. 35 - Vanilla.
Eye Color:Blue
Hair color:Brunette
Skin Tone:Light
Skin Type:Oily
Skin concerns:Acne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
-04.20.18
This foundation is amazing. This is my third bottle now, and nothing keeps me Matte like this does + it has major full coverage! Not to mention MUFE is a great hypoallergenic brand that doesn’t cause breakouts! Will always repurchase!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Mat Velvet + Mattifying Foundation
This review is fromMat Velvet + Mattifying Foundation No. 20 - Ivory.
Eye Color:Blue
Hair color:Blonde
Skin Tone:Fair
Skin Type:Combination
Skin concerns:Acne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MY GO TO
-04.15.18
BEST FOUNDATION. Seriously I would highly recommend this to anyone and everyone. This is my all time fav foundation. I've tried several(20 ) foundations and this has been my GO TO! I have 3 shades in this foundation. The 15, 20, and 30. 20 is the one I use the most and 15 is kind of a highlight color. I use 30 during the summer for when I get a little more tanned from the sun. This foundation will legit stay on my face 24 hours or more. I don't get weird creases or feel like my foundation is "slipping" off. Never feel cakey, but this is def medium to full coverage for me. LOVE IT.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Mat Velvet + Mattifying Foundation
This review is fromMat Velvet + Mattifying Foundation No. 57 - Pecan.
Eye Color:Brown
Hair color:Black
Skin Tone:Deep
Skin Type:Combination
Skin concerns:Acne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
-04.13.18
Really like the product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Mat Velvet + Mattifying Foundation
This review is fromMat Velvet + Mattifying Foundation No. 25 - Warm Ivory.
Eye Color:Blue
Hair color:Blonde
Skin Tone:Light
Skin Type:Combination
Skin concerns:Redness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HG Status
-04.13.18
Holy Grail. I have really oily skin and this stuff got me through two outdoor summer weddings where I was running around all day as a bridesmaid. One photographer even complimented me on my skin. I do use the MUFE step 1 mattifying primer with this so I’m not sure how it would do with other primers or no primers but I bet it would still be great. Good shade matches too. Completely worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Mat Velvet + Mattifying Foundation
This review is fromMat Velvet + Mattifying Foundation No. 35 - Vanilla.
Eye Color:Green
Hair color:Brunette
Skin Tone:Light
Skin Type:Oily
Skin concerns:Acne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
-04.10.18
Great for a medium coverage, I love that it doesn't feel heavy on the skin but I was wanting a more full coverage, this will probably be my go to during summer months since its so light weight and comfortable on my face!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Mat Velvet + Mattifying Foundation
This review is fromMat Velvet + Mattifying Foundation No. 30 - Porcelain.
Eye Color:Blue
Hair color:Blonde
Skin Tone:Light
Skin Type:Combination
Skin concerns:Acne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
-04.09.18
One of my go to quick foundations. Super matte and a really good medium coverage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Mat Velvet + Mattifying Foundation
This review is fromMat Velvet + Mattifying Foundation No. 40 - Natural Beige.
Eye Color:Green
Hair color:Brunette
Skin Tone:Tan
Skin Type:Oily
Skin concerns:Acne
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
-04.08.18
Super thick and hard to apply with a brush or a sponge. Wanted this to work so bad :(
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Mat Velvet + Mattifying Foundation
This review is fromMat Velvet + Mattifying Foundation No. 80 - Cognac.
Eye Color:Brown
Hair color:Black
Skin Tone:Ebony
Skin Type:Combination
Skin concerns:Sun damage
Age:18-24
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Foundation
-04.06.18
The best foundation in the whole wide world! I used to use this when I was 15 and it was my holy grail. Ended up coming back to it to see if it still worked as good and it does! Beautiful matte finish makes your skin look soo flawless. I'm in love! The only foundation I'll wear.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Mat Velvet + Mattifying Foundation
This review is fromMat Velvet + Mattifying Foundation No. 25 - Warm Ivory.
Eye Color:Hazel
Hair color:Brunette
Skin Tone:Light
Skin Type:Combination
Skin concerns:Acne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice!
-04.06.18
Love this! Gnice texture, smooth, even and long lasting coverage. Very lightweight feel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Mat Velvet + Mattifying Foundation
This review is fromMat Velvet + Mattifying Foundation No. 35 - Vanilla.
Eye Color:Green
Hair color:Black
Skin Tone:Olive
Skin Type:Normal
Skin concerns:Acne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best
-04.06.18
My favorite foundation! Made it through 4 long days at Disney world including splash mountain without budging! Just used a little Laura mercier translucent powder on top and some cheap setting spray
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Mat Velvet + Mattifying Foundation
This review is fromMat Velvet + Mattifying Foundation No. 35 - Vanilla.
Eye Color:Green
Hair color:Blonde
Skin Tone:Light
Skin Type:Combination
Skin concerns:Aging
Age:45-54
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Favorite foundation
-04.06.18
I've tried several foundations to get the one I love and this is it. It's like you have no foundation on at all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Mat Velvet + Mattifying Foundation
This review is fromMat Velvet + Mattifying Foundation No. 53 - Golden Sand.
Eye Color:Green
Hair color:Blonde
Skin Tone:Medium
Skin Type:Oily
Skin concerns:Acne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for normal to oily skin!
-04.04.18
Keeps my skin from looking oily and lasts all day!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Mat Velvet + Mattifying Foundation
This review is fromMat Velvet + Mattifying Foundation No. 35 - Vanilla.
Eye Color:Brown
Hair color:Brunette
Skin Tone:Tan
Skin Type:Oily
Skin concerns:Dark circles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My favorite
-04.04.18
I went into the store looking for a foundation that would stay on my face for at least 10 hours and still look good and I found it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Mat Velvet + Mattifying Foundation
This review is fromMat Velvet + Mattifying Foundation No. 80 - Cognac.
Eye Color:Brown
Hair color:Black
Skin Tone:Ebony
Skin Type:Oily
Skin concerns:Acne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
-04.04.18
Full coverage. It’s light. Doesn’t clog my pores. I’ve tried other brands but nothing gives me coverage and looks natural as this one. Love it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Mat Velvet + Mattifying Foundation
This review is fromMat Velvet + Mattifying Foundation No. 35 - Vanilla.
Eye Color:Blue
Hair color:Blonde
Skin Tone:Tan
Skin Type:Oily
Skin concerns:Acne
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
-04.02.18
I’ve tried so many foundations, and this is my favorite!! I have very oily skin so it’s important for me for my foundation to stay on and not be too thick. This and some power are my go-to. My only complaint is that this isn’t cruelty free :/
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
| prev... | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | ... 325 | ...next |